Our modern society places a high premium on a variety of health trends. One such paradigm consists of the gluten-free lifestyle. While this diet is definitely intended for people afflicted with celiac disease, more citizens are jumping onboard to say no to wheat products. As cool as it may be to jump on this trend, it does make the practice of consuming beer a challenge. As a top brewpub in Minneapolis, The Herkimer is here to provide Minnesotans with the best food and brews. Our brewery bar combines these top-notch products with fun events and a great atmosphere to ensure that you and your crew have a grand time. While our sports bar seems to feature a pro-gluten environment, we understand that the health connoisseurs everywhere are seeking gluten-less products. Today, we’ll take a look at how gluten-free beer is made and whether or not it is worth the price for those going sans gluten.

Making The Grain

Starting with a gluten-free base is one option that brewers can take in their quest for GF beer. Common grains that are used here consist of rice, buckwheat, corn, and sorghum. Essentially, it is important to put gluten-free ingredients into the mash to ensure that gluten does not come out when it’s time to sip. You can find a wide range of ales that utilize this “clean” production method in the brewery. Hard ciders are also gluten-free thanks to their fruitful composition (commonly apples). When you find a beer with a gluten-free symbol on it, chances are that this brew was made with one of the previously-mentioned grains. The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) actually regulates gluten-free beer because it does not meet the Alcohol and Tobacco Trade Bureau (TTB)’s definition of what beer is. As such, a lot of complications have come to light as to how we can label products that do not feature gluten.

Removing The Problem

If a beer is brewed with gluten, it legally cannot be designated as gluten-free. As such, brewers have a difficult time labeling their products when they take advantage of science and innovation. Another option that is gaining traction in the beer world is the use of a special enzyme that is added to the mash that digests gluten in large quantities. In essence, you’re sending in an army of hungry organisms that will clean all of the gluten out of the beer, dropping levels down to a safe point. There are a few choices of what product to use here, so we recommend looking up reviews before taking action. Products such as Brewer’s Clarex and Clarity-Ferm are named as such to be more memorable and marketable to the general public.

Beers that are gluten-removed are at the center of debate for many parties. On one side, supporters claim that the passing tests for gluten tolerances are enough proof that enzymatic reactions work to make delicious beer safe for those with celiac disease. However, opponents have posited that the digestion process has simply broken down the proteins to the point that they cannot be measured by the test, resulting in inaccurate results. Some people who drink gluten-removed beers claim to have negative reactions while others report feeling better than ever. More time and research will be needed to simplify this complicated process.

Brewing your own beer can be an involved hobby, especially if gluten-free requirements are thrown into the mix. If you are looking for a craft brewery that supplies delicious wares, you’ve come to the right place! The Herkimer is proud to be one of the best brewpubs in Minneapolis. Our dedication to the craft of brewing will be evident with every sip you take. Come on in today to check the place out for yourself or contact us today for answers to your quality questions!